Saturday is Pancake Day.

It’s been a while since a Saturday where I can sleep until I naturally awake, even if this means waking up at the 5-hr mark of 7am. From 8am clinical to volunteering events to assorted errands, having the option to go back to sleep and not have to worry about the consequence has been a rare occasion. So I went back to sleep and woke up 2 hours later.

With just a few ingredients in the fridge and love for simplicity, I made a 4-ingredient pancake with 3/4 cup yogurt, 1 egg, 1/2 cup flour, and 1 tsp baking soda. This is the site where the recipe came from. This girl’s got some pretty great recipes with basic ingredients and simple steps! Definitely check it out [: And shout out to a fellow public health major!

Instead of nonfat Greek yogurt called in the recipe, I used the good ‘ole plain 2% fat Dannon yogurt, which is less dense than Greek yogurt meaning fluffier pancake. And normal flour is swapped with whole wheat flour because, why not.

I made one with frozen blueberries, one with fresh strawberry (yay for strawberry season!), one with coconut flakes, one with chocolate chip, and one plain.  The one with coconut flake turned out better than expected with its added texture. And the frozen blueberries in the other pancake were so juicy that they pretty much exploded in my mouth – definitely let it cool down before digging in!

While the pancakes in the picture, and on my plate, didn’t have any syrup or honey, my roommate drizzled her plate with honey. The fresh fruits on the side (we also had banana slices) were sweet and juicy enough for me.

Though simple, this recipe gave me one of the best turnout for pancakes — even better than the boxed mixes! Or may be it’s because of my newly discovered general cooking tips — keep the heat low and take your time. This probably tells you how much of a novice I am in the kitchen, hahah

 https://instagram.com/p/16Sm5muxbq/?taken-by=whatisjolene

With EMT clinical finished, summer class registered, plane ticket booked, and the slowly intensifying course work leading up to finals week, I can’t believe I will have just 1 more year to go until… post-college. Part of me is looking forward to finishing college, to leaving this place, to closing this chapter. Of course, I’m nowhere near ready. But that’s okay, because I still have a full year. So before I get ahead of myself and lose sight of what’s in front of me in the present, I will just enjoy the pancake and let tomorrow’s worries stay there, in the tomorrow. Because sometimes, turning down the heat and waiting is all that there is to do.

Leave a Reply

